

University Senate

8001 Natural Bridge Road St. Louis, Missouri 63121-4499

Telephone: 314-516-6769 Fax: 314-516-6769

E-mail: senate@umsl.edu

(Minutes to be considered for approval at the Senate meeting on April 27, 1999, 2:30 p.m.)

SENATE MINUTES **UM-ST. LOUIS** March 16, 1999 2:30 p.m. 78 J. C. Penney

Dr. Jeanne Morgan Zarucchi, 1998-99 Chairperson, called the first organizational meeting of the 1999-2000 Senate to order at 2:35 p.m.

Dr. Jeanne Morgan Zarucchi was reelected Senate Chairperson by acclamation.

Nominations were invited for a voting member of the Senate to serve as Secretary. Dr. Carol Kohfeld was nominated by Dr. Joyce Corey. There were no other nominees, and Dr. Kohfeld was elected Senate Secretary by acclamation.

Nominations were invited for members of the Senate Committee on Committees. Those nominated were:

Humanities Dr. Fred Willman, Dr. Stephanie Ross

Social Sciences Dr. Terry Jones Science/Math Dr. William Connett **Business Administration** Dr. Vicki Sauter Education Dr. Scot Danforth Dr. Sally Hardin Nursing

Optometry Dr. William Long

Students Mr. Roby Bracy, Mr. Aaron Kohrs, Mr. Ryan Metcalf,

Mr. Tim O'Connor, Ms. Gail Rimkus, Mr. Matt Schaeffer

Sole nominees were elected by acclamation. The following were elected by written ballot:

Humanities Dr. Fred Willman

Students Mr. Roby Bracy, Mr. Ryan Metcalf, Ms. Gail Rimkus

Newly elected members of the Committee on Committees were instructed to proceed to the Summit for a brief meeting.

Completing the business at hand, the Senate adjourned at 2:50 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Carol Kohfeld

Senate Secretary